Why do YOU wear makeup?

Since becoming a beauty blogger for Lookfantastic by winning their competition, #thebeautyset, to find everyday beauty enthusiasts, and taking part in the #Iamfantatsic campaign, I have been asked a lot what it is like to be a guy who wears makeup and why I do it. My immediate response tends to be rather sharp and pointed: “well, what is it like to be a man, or a woman, who doesn’t wear any makeup and why the hell don’t you?”

I have no idea what it is like to walk in someone else’s shoes and skin and have the interests and tastes that they do and they will never fully know what it is like to be me. The beauty of being human is that we are individuals in our own right and can pursue our own life path as we see fit. I am a firm proponent of doing what makes you happiest; on the condition that you don’t affect someone else’s wellbeing.

Being part of the Lookfantastic family, and particularly the campaign, means supporting individuality and doing what makes you feel good in your skin. To see the campaign in which I am involved and read other inspiring stories from my fellow bloggers, follow this link: http://bit.ly/2p9KN1p

I first started using makeup to cover up those nasty teenage blemishes from which we all suffered and from there my passion (or obsession) spiralled out of control. I loved the confidence I gained form having impeccable skin. I loved that I could look in the mirror and feel ready to take on the world. I felt the way I imagined my female friends felt when they did their makeup going on a night out or going to work. Why should a woman be able to experience that rush of confidence and sass and I be deprived because of a XY chromosome?

It was a no brainer for me.

For a few years, I would only wear natural makeup to enhance my complexion and make me feel less spotty. I had so much trepidation that someone would realise I had a foundation or blush on. I was literally terrified. People will look. People will stare. People will…

Wait. These people only have eyes for one thing: their smartphones. It clicked with me one day that no one actually sees what is happening around them. The barely lift their head from tweeting to cross the road. I could be a red or a green man and they wouldn’t bat an eyelid. I decided to be a makeup man instead and rather than bat my lid, I’d cut my crease…

I stole my mum’s eyeshadow palette and I had a play about, trying to recreate looks that I saw on YouTube from my inspirations: MannyMua and PatrickStarrr. I felt on fire when I mastered the smoky eye and I rocked it on a night out. From that moment onwards, whenever I felt I wasn’t confident enough to do something because of the fear of someone else’s reaction, I would force myself to do it.

If someone has a problem with my happiness and confidence, then they will have to look away for this lady is not for changing. It was makeup that gave me this confidence to be myself; for you, it might be another medium, but whatever it is, use it to your advantage and be happy being you. You get one body on this earth and you may as well love every inch of it. Someone will always dislike you, just don’t be that person.

Makeup can lighten you. Makeup can ‘highlighten’ you. But most importantly, makeup will enlighten you.

To see my different looks check me out on Instagram, @prinny_g

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

